Severus Snape

(Just realised that this post has a lot of spoilers, so if you haven’t read/seen the Harry Potter movies, then you might not want to read this. Unless you never intend on doing so, then feel free to read anyway. Or if you just like spoilers perhaps, then you can also continue reading. Okay I’m gonna stop now)

I was left totally heartbroken when I found out that today, on the 14th of january, Alan Rickman has passed away. Although he has acted in several other movies, Harry Potter is definitely the one that’s had the most impact on me. (Runner up is Love Actually, which is my all time favorite christmas movies, teehee!). Now, I love Harry Potter, with all of my heart and much more. I can’t even count how many times I’ve watched every movie or read the books. (Unfortunately, as a broke student I don’t have the money to buy as much HP-merch as I would’ve wanted, but the day I become rich will be the day I will fill up a house with as much merch as possible! (Probably need to buy a house first though)).

Now, I know that peoples relationship with Severus Snape might be a bit complex, needless to say. Which might have to do with that he killed Dumbledore. And a whole bunch of other things. But, in the final book/movie you really get so much into depth in Snape’s life and what he’s been through. Why he could barely look at Harry because he saw so much of James in him, the man whom stole the love of his life and bullied him for pretty much Snape’s entire schooltime. But still Snape couldn’t help being protective of Harry and saving him from all loads of trouble. Because Harry was Lilys son, the woman he loved and always will love. And he had promised himself to look out for Harry. That’s what made Snape so complex, and such a wonderful and interesting character to follow. To be honest, I wouldn’t mind having J.K Rowling writing an entire book about the background story of Snape! The deathly hallows truly showed a side of Snape where we really found out that Snape truly was as cunning as Slytherin, as brave as a Gryffindor, as smart as a Ravenclaw and as loyal as a Hufflepuff.

But, as of now, Snape truly is united with Lily once again, and wherever Alan may be, I sure hope that he has it great! ^^

R.I.P Alan Rickman 21 February 1946 – 14 January 2016, we will love you. Always. 

End of teatime! *Clink Clink* 

Leave a Reply

